Volleyball on Tennis Courts Fall 2020

Meet our Athletic Staff

Athletics Staff

Our dedicated and experienced athletics staff make sports
and activities at NYA safe and FUN!

Visit Us!

NYA Boys Lacrosse 2019 Did you know?

NYA requires students in grade six through twelve to participate in an after school activity each season. In addition to team sports, students may select activities like theater and music.

Our youngest Lower School students participate in Creative Movement classes, and beginning in the primary grades, our Lower School students participate in gym class in addition to recess in our playground. In the winter months, students in Pre-K through grade four take ice skating lessons in Travis Roy Arena as part of their gym class.

Our 2019-2020 Athletics Staff

NYA Athletic Director, Kelsy RossKelsy Ross
Athletic Director
kross@nya.org

This is Kelsy’s second year as Athletic Director at North Yarmouth Academy. She holds a BA from Roanoke College where she was a member of the varsity soccer and varsity basketball programs. While working towards a MA in Physical Education, Athletic Administration from Springfield College, Ross coached with the women’s soccer program and worked as a graduate assistant in the equipment room. She was most recently the Bates College Head Women’s Soccer Coach and lecturer in the Bates Physical Education Department.

Mallory Michaeles
Associate Athletic Director and Girls Varsity Ice Hockey Coach
mmichaeles@nya.org

Mallory graduated from Colby College where she was a four year player on the varsity hockey team. She spent nine years at Colby College, three as Head Coach of the Women’s Ice Hockey Program. She has also served as an assistant coach at Bowdoin, Williams, and U-Mass Boston. She comes to NYA from Bowdoin College, where she volunteered as an assistant coach of women’s hockey for the past two years. She began her career at New Hampton School in New Hampshire as a coach and teacher.

Heather Dean
Athletic Trainer & Kindergarten through Fifth Grade Physical Education Teacher
hdean@nya.org

Heather holds her B.S. in Health Science from Nazareth University and her B.S. in Athletic Training from the University of Southern Maine. She has experience as an athletic trainer with organizations including the Maine Wild Junior Hockey and Spectrum Healthcare Partners – Falmouth High School, and experience teaching wellness, fitness, and nutrition through the SAIL (Student Adventures in Learning) program at Falmouth. She has led the fitness program for Southern Maine Community College’s Fire Science Program, guest-lectured in the Athletic Training Program at the University of Southern Maine each fall, and volunteered medical services to Special Olympics Maine.

Shelby Trained - Shelby TurcotteShelby Turcotte
Performance Enhancement Specialist, Weight Room
shelby@shelbytrained.com

Shelby holds his master’s degree in exercise science with a concentration in performance enhancement and injury prevention. In addition, he is certified through the National Academy of Sports Medicine as a Performance Enhancement Specialist.  Shelby has worked with a variety of clients – from developing young athletes up through professionals.  He enjoys sharing his knowledge and experience in the field by writing and speaking on a variety of subjects.  Shelby obtained his MS from California University of Pennsylvania, and a BS (Sports Management) from Thomas College.

Upper School Coaching Staff

Fall Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Cross Country – Boys Varsity Peter Sillin psillin@nya.org
Cross Country – Girls Varsity Chris Mazzurco cmazzurco@nya.org
Cross Country – Girls Varsity Assistant Hannah Austin
Field Hockey – Varsity Annika King girlsfieldhockey@nya.org
Field Hockey – Varsity Assistant Ashley Randlett arandlett@nya.org
Golf – Varsity Charlie Hudson chudson@nya.org
Golf – JV Colby Myer cmyer@nya.org
Sailing SailMaine
Soccer – Boys Varsity Matthew Williams boyssoccer@nya.org
Soccer – Boys Varsity Assistant/JV Eric Organ
Soccer – Boys Varsity Assistant/JV Dimitri Roumeliotis
Soccer – Girls Varsity Ricky Doyon girlssoccer@nya.org
Soccer – Girls Varsity Assistant Ethan Mongue
Soccer – Girls Varsity Assistant/JV Laurie Doyon
Volleyball – Girls Varsity Nora Krainis nkrainis@nya.org
Volleyball – Varsity Assistant/JV Dave Gagne dgagne@nya.org

 

Winter Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Basketball – Boys Varsity Jason Knight boysbasketball@nya.org
Basketball – Boys Varsity Assistant Jesse Colfer
Basketball – Boys Varsity Assistant John Squires
Basketball – Boys JV/Varsity Assistant DJ Nicholas ’15
Basketball – Girls Varsity Tom Robinson girlsbasketball@nya.org
Basketball – Girls Varsity Assistant Roger Rioux
Ice Hockey – Boys Varsity Mike Warde mwarde@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys Varsity Assistant/JV Terry Meagher
Ice Hockey – Boys Varsity Assistant/JV Bill Galvin
Ice Hockey – Boys and Girls Goaltending Hannu Toiven
Ice Hockey – Girls Varsity Mallory Michaeles mmichaeles@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Girls Varsity Assistant Marissa Fichter
Indoor Track & Field – Boys & Girls Varsity Chris Mazzurco cmazzurco@nya.org
Indoor Track & Field – Assistant Coach David Gagne dgagne@nya.org
Indoor Track & Field – Assistant Coach Matt York mosesman1@gmail.com
Indoor Track & Field – Assistant Coach Hannah Austin
US Nordic – Go-Ed TBD
Spring Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Baseball Paul Grazia paul.grazia@gmail.com
Baseball – Assistant Alex Kloza akloza@nya.org
Lacrosse – Boys Varsity Peter Gerrity gerrity.peter@gmail.com
Lacrosse – Boys JV TBD
Lacrosse – Girls Varsity Julia Sterling juliasterling0904@gmail.com
Lacrosse – Girls Varsity Assistant/JV Laura Young MacMahon laura.young89@gmail.com
Softball Ricky Doyon ricky.doyon@biddefordmaine.org
Tennis – Boys Varsity Charlie Hudson chudson@nya.org
Tennis – Girls Varsity Lorena Coffin lorenac@fiddleheadschool.org
Tennis – Boys/Girls Varsity Assistant TBD
Track & Field – Boys & Girls Varsity Chris Mazzurco cmazzurco@nya.org
Track & Field – Assistant Coach Matt York mosesman1@gmail.com
Track & Field – Assistant Coach Dave Gagne dgagne@nya.org

 

Middle School Coaching Staff

Fall Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Cross Country Matt York
Field Hockey Haver Markham hmarkham@nya.org
Field Hockey Assistant Maddie Ferrucci
Field Hockey Assistant Talia Glass
Soccer – Boys Nathan Smith nsmith@nya.org
Soccer – Boys & Girls Assistant Andrew Cook acook@nya.org
Soccer – Girls Danielle Barschdorf dbarschdorf@nya.org
Tennis – Girls and Boys David Echeverria decheverria@nya.org
Winter Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Basketball – Boys Tom Perkins
Basketball – Boys Assistant George Almasi
Basketball – Girls Liz Smith lsmith@nya.org
Winter Wellness Kelsy Ross kross@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls Ryan Coulombe rcoulombe@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls Assistant TBD
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls Goaltending Hannu Toiven
Spring Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Lacrosse – Boys Eli Downs
Lacrosse – Girls Mark MacMahon
Laura Young MacMahon
Track and Field, Boys & Girls Hannah Austin
Track and Field, Boys & Girls Matt York

Looking to contact a head coach about Middle School activities? Please reach out to NYA Associate Athletic Director Mallory Michaeles at mmichaeles@nya.org