Meet our Athletic Staff

Athletics Staff

Our dedicated and experienced athletics staff make sports
and activities at NYA safe and FUN!

Learn More About NYA!

Did you know?

NYA requires students in grade six through twelve to participate in an after school activity each season. In addition to team sports, students may select activities like theater and music.

Our youngest Lower School students participate in Creative Movement classes, and beginning in the primary grades, our Lower School students participate in gym class in addition to recess in our playground. In the winter months, students in Pre-K through grade four take ice skating lessons in Travis Roy Arena as part of their gym class.

Our 2021-2022 Athletics Staff

NYA Athletic Director, Kelsy RossKelsy Ross
Athletic Director
kross@nya.org

This is Kelsy’s fourth year as Athletic Director at North Yarmouth Academy. She holds a BA from Roanoke College where she was a member of the varsity soccer and varsity basketball programs. While working towards a MA in Physical Education, Athletic Administration from Springfield College, Ross coached with the women’s soccer program and worked as a graduate assistant in the equipment room. She was most recently the Bates College Head Women’s Soccer Coach and lecturer in the Bates Physical Education Department.

Matthew Poulin, NYA Girls Varsity Hockey CoachMatthew Poulin
Associate Director of Athletics and Varsity Girls Ice Hockey Head Coach
mpoulin@nya.org

This is Matthew Poulin’s second year at NYA, and we’re excited to have him on board. Prior to NYA, he was the assistant boys varsity ice hockey coach at Lewiston High School. For six of the past seven seasons, he aided in ushering the Blue Devils to three state championships. Matt also has collegiate coaching experience in the American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA), leading the Central Maine Community College D2 Men’s Club Hockey program. On the girls’ side of the ice, he coaches with the Maine Gladiators U19 and U16 teams. Matt also conducts private skills instruction for boys and girls ages 11-18.

.

Upper School Coaching Staff

Fall Season 2022
TeamCoach(es)Contact
Cross Country – Boys VarsityPeter Sillinpsillin@nya.org
Cross Country – Girls VarsityChris Mazzurcocmazzurco@nya.org
Field Hockey – Varsitygirlsfieldhockey@nya.org
Field Hockey – Varsity AssistantAshley Randlettarandlett@nya.org
Golf – VarsityCharlie Hudsonchudson@nya.org
Golf – JVGriffin Henderson
Soccer – Boys VarsityBranden Noltkamperboyssoccer@nya.org
Soccer – Boys JV Head/Varsity AssistantDimitri Roumeliotis
Soccer – Girls VarsityRicky Doyongirlssoccer@nya.org
Soccer – Girls JV Head/Varsity AssistantEthan Mongue
Soccer – Girls Varsity/JV AssistantLaurie Doyon
Soccer – Girls Varsity/JV AssistantEmily Baker
Volleyball – Girls VarsityNora Krainisnkrainis@nya.org
Volleyball – Varsity Assistant/JVDave Gagnedgagne@nya.org

 

Winter Season 2021-2022
TeamCoach(es)Contact
Basketball – Boys VarsityJason Knightboysbasketball@nya.org
Basketball – Boys Varsity AssistantJesse Colfer
Basketball – Boys Varsity AssistantJohn Squires
Basketball – Girls VarsityTom Robinsongirlsbasketball@nya.org
Basketball – Girls Varsity AssistantRoger Rioux
Ice Hockey – Boys VarsityMike Wardemwarde@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys Varsity Assistant/JVTerry Meagher
Ice Hockey – Boys Varsity Assistant/JVBill Galvin
Ice Hockey – Boys and Girls GoaltendingHannu Toiven
Ice Hockey – Girls VarsityMatthew Poulinmpoulin@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Girls Varsity AssistantMarissa Fichter
Indoor Track & Field – Boys & Girls VarsityChris Mazzurcocmazzurco@nya.org
Indoor Track & Field – Assistant CoachDavid Gagnedgagne@nya.org
Indoor Track & Field – Assistant CoachMatt Yorkmosesman1@gmail.com
Indoor Track & Field – Assistant CoachHannah Austin
US Nordic – Co-EdLizzy Martinnordicskiing@nya.org
Spring Season 2021-2022
TeamCoach(es)Contact
BaseballPaul Grazia
Baseball – AssistantAlex Klozaakloza@nya.org
Lacrosse – Boys VarsityPeter Gerrity ’05boyslacrosse@nya.org
Lacrosse – Boys JVEthan Brown
Lacrosse – Boys AssistantKade Strout
Lacrosse – Girls VarsityMolly Moss-Stokes ’05girlslacrosse@nya.org
Lacrosse – Girls Varsity Assistant/JV
Tennis – Boys VarsityCharlie Hudsonchudson@nya.org
Tennis – Boys AssistantLori Poulin
Tennis – Girls VarsityLorena Coffingirlstennis@nya.org
Tennis – Girls AssistantAshley Randlettarandlett@nya.org
Track & Field – Boys & Girls VarsityChris Mazzurcocmazzurco@nya.org
Track & Field – Assistant CoachMatt York
Track & Field – Assistant CoachDave Gagnedgagne@nya.org

Looking to contact a head coach about Upper School activities? Please reach out to NYA Athletic Director, Kelsy Ross, at kross@nya.org

Middle School Coaching Staff

Fall Season 2022-2023
TeamCoach(es)Contact
Field HockeyTBD
Soccer – BoysNathan Smithnsmith@nya.org
Soccer – GirlsDanielle Barschdorfdbarschdorf@nya.org
Tennis – Girls and BoysAndrew Cookacook@nya.org
Winter Season 2021-2022
TeamCoach(es)Contact
Basketball – BoysTom Perkins
Basketball – Boys AssistantGeorge Almasi
Basketball – GirlsLiz Smithlsmith@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys & GirlsRyan Coulombercoulombe@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls AssistantTBD
Spring Season 2021-2022
TeamCoach(es)Contact
Lacrosse – BoysEli Downs
Lacrosse – Boys AssistantTBD
Lacrosse – GirlsMark MacMahon
Laura Young MacMahon
Baseball/SoftballTBD
Track and Field, Boys & GirlsMatt York
Track and Field, Boys & Girls AssistantTBD

Looking to contact a head coach about Middle School activities? Please reach out to NYA Athletic Director, Kelsy Ross, at kross@nya.org