Meet our Athletic Staff

Athletics Staff

Our dedicated and experienced athletics staff make sports
and activities at NYA safe and FUN!

Visit Us!

NYA Boys Lacrosse 2019 Did you know?

NYA requires students in grade six through twelve to participate in an after school activity each season. In addition to team sports, students may select activities like theater and music.

Our youngest Lower School students participate in Creative Movement classes, and beginning in the primary grades, our Lower School students participate in gym class in addition to recess in our playground. In the winter months, students in Pre-K through grade four take ice skating lessons in Travis Roy Arena as part of their gym class.

Our Athletics Staff

NYA Athletic Director, Kelsy RossKelsy Ross
Athletic Director
kross@nya.org

This is Kelsy’s first year as Athletic Director at North Yarmouth Academy. She holds a BA from Roanoke College where she was a member of the varsity soccer and varsity basketball programs. While working towards a MA in Physical Education, Athletic Administration from Springfield College, Ross coached with the women’s soccer program and worked as a graduate assistant in the equipment room. She was most recently the Bates College Head Women’s Soccer Coach and lecturer in the Bates Physical Education Department.

NYA Athletic Trainer Z AdamsZoe Adams
Athletic Trainer
zoe.adams@nya.org

Zoe joined the faculty in 2019 as NYA’s Athletic Trainer and Lower School Physical Education Teacher. She earned her B.S. from the University of New England and is a certified and licensed athletic trainer. She was a three sport varsity athlete in high school and played varsity rugby at UNE. She is excited to begin her journey at NYA!

Shelby Trained - Shelby TurcotteShelby Turcotte
Performance Enhancement Specialist, Weight Room
shelby@finer-points.com

Shelby holds his master’s degree in exercise science with a concentration in performance enhancement and injury prevention.  In addition, he is certified through the National Academy of Sports Medicine as a Performance Enhancement Specialist.  Shelby has worked with a variety of clients – from developing young athletes up through professionals.  He enjoys sharing his knowledge and experience in the field by writing and speaking on a variety of subjects.  Shelby obtained his MS from California University of Pennsylvania, and a BS (Sports Management) from Thomas College.

Upper School Coaching Staff

Fall Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Cross Country – Boys Varsity Peter Sillin psillin@nya.org
Cross Country – Girls Varsity Chris Mazzurco cmazzurco@nya.org
Field Hockey – Varsity Annika King annikaking17@gmail.com
Field Hockey – Varsity Assistant Ashley Randlett arandlett@nya.org
Golf – Varsity Charlie Hudson chudson@nya.org
Golf – JV Colby Myer cmyer@nya.org
Sailing SailMaine
Soccer – Boys Varsity Tom Masters tommasters08@gmail.com
Soccer – Boys Varsity Assistant/JV Eric Organ organeric15@gmail.com
Soccer – Girls Varsity Rick Doyon ricky.doyon@biddefordmaine.org
Soccer – Girls Varsity Assistant Ethan Mongue emongue7@gmail.com
Volleyball – Girls Varsity Nora Krainis nkrainis@nya.org
Volleyball – Varsity Assistant/JV Dave Gagne dgagne@nya.org

 

Winter Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Basketball – Boys Varsity Jason Knight Jason.knight7@yahoo.com
Basketball – Boys Varsity Assistant/JV Jesse Colfer jessecolfer@gmail.com
Basketball – Girls Varsity Tom Robinson trobinson@capeelizabethschools.org
Basketball – Girls Varsity Assistant Terry Hickey hickeyt@rsu5.org
Ice Hockey – Boys Varsity Mike Warde mwarde@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys Varsity Assistant/JV Terry Meagher tmeagher@bowdoin.edu 
Ice Hockey – Boys Varsity Assistant Rob Couturier rcouturier78@yahoo.com
Ice Hockey – Girls Varsity Pavel Navrat pnavrat@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Girls Varsity Assistant Emily Corrales emjcorrales@outlook.com
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls Goaltending Rob Couturier rcouturier78@yahoo.com
Indoor Track – Boys & Girls Varsity Chris Mazzurco cmazzurco@nya.org
Indoor Track – Assistant Coach David Gagne dgagne@nya.org
Indoor Track – Assistant Coach Matthew Brown pureivy05@gmail.com
Swimming & Diving – Boys & Girls Varsity Rob Hale rhale@msad51.org
Spring Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Baseball Paul Grazia paul.grazia@gmail.com
Baseball – Assistant Alex Kloza akloza@nya.org
Lacrosse – Boys Varsity Sam Manders sam@207lacrosse.com
Lacrosse – Boys JV Edward Helliere helliere@merrimack.edu
Lacrosse – Girls Varsity Molly Climo molly.climo@gmail.com
Lacrosse – Girls Varsity Assistant/JV Laura Young MacMahon laura.young89@gmail.com
Softball Theresa Hendrix Hendrix@cheverus.org
Tennis – Boys Varsity Charlie Hudson chudson@nya.org
Tennis – Girls Varsity Gavin Glider glider.tennis@gmail.com
Tennis – Girls Varsity Assistant Bailey Pelletier Bailey.m.pelletier@gmail.com 
Track & Field – Boys & Girls Varsity Chris Mazzurco cmazzurco@nya.org
Track & Field – Assistant Coach Matt York mosesman1@gmail.com
Track & Field – Assistant Coach Dave Gagne dgagne@nya.org

 

Middle School Coaching Staff

Fall Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Cross Country Matt Yorke mosesman1@gmail.com
Field Hockey Kayla Rose ’14 krose@skidmore.edu
Soccer – Boys Nathan Smith nsmith@nya.org
Soccer – Girls Danielle Barschdorf dbarschdorf@nya.org
Tennis – Girls and Boys David Echeverria decheverria@nya.org
Winter Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Basketball – Boys Tom Perkins Perkins.thomasr@gmail.com
Basketball – Girls Liz Smith lsmith@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls Ryan Coulombe rcoulombe@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls Assistant Pavel Navrat pnavrat@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls Goaltending Rob Couturier rcouturier78@yahoo.com
Winter Experience TBD
Spring Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Lacrosse – Boys Eli Downs  eli.downs1@gmail.com
Lacrosse – Girls Mark MacMahon
Laura Young MacMahon
Jim Taylor
mark.r.macmahon@gmail.com
laura.young89@gmail.com
jimtaylor@beltedcow.com
Softball Tom Hegarty tjhegarty@burnsmcd.com
Track and Field, Boys & Girls Morgan Lake Adams ’99 mlakeadams@nya.org
Track and Field, Boys & Girls Matt York mosesman1@gmail.com