athletics staff page ls-hop-a-thon-2017-1_feature

Meet our Athletic Staff

Athletics Staff

Our dedicated and experienced athletics staff make sports
and activities at NYA safe and FUN!

Visit Us!

North Yarmouth Academy, North Yarmouth Academy, Yarmouth, Maine. Brian Beard - CIP

 Did you know?

NYA requires students in grade six through twelve to participate in an after school activity each season. In addition to team sports, students may select activities like theater and music.

Our youngest Lower School students participate in Creative Movement classes, and beginning in the primary grades, our Lower School students participate in gym class in addition to recess in our playground. In the winter months, students in Pre-K through grade four take ice skating lessons in Travis Roy Arena as part of their gym class.

Our Athletics Staff

bio-jhardySquareJack Hardy, CAA
Athletic Director
jhardy@nya.org

Jack joined the NYA family in the fall of 2012.  He has thirty-nine years of experience in the educational field; twenty-six of them in administration as an assistant principal or athletic director.  The Maine State Association of Athletic Administrators recognized Jack in 2001 as the Athletic Director of the Year, and the National Association presented him its Distinguished Service Award in 2004.  Despite these honors, he states that one of the proudest moments during his career happened in the spring of 2014 when the yearbook was dedicated to him by the students of NYA. Jack’s daughter Brooke is a 2012 graduate of North Yarmouth Academy.

walsh-ath
Tyler Walsh
Assistant Athletic Director
twalsh@nya.org

Tyler joined NYA in the fall of 2016 as Assistant Director of Admission and has transitioned to the athletic department. He also serves as the Head Coach of Boys Varsity Ice Hockey. Tyler completed his undergraduate degree from the University of Maine (2013) where he served as Undergraduate Assistant Coach for the Men’s Ice Hockey team. He has held positions such as Director of Hockey Operations at Canisius College (Buffalo, NY), Assistant Hockey Coach of the United States National Development Program (Plymouth, MI), has worked with USA Hockey in various international events and festivals, and is a board member of the “Hockey Coaches Care Foundation.” This will be Tyler’s first year working in the athletic department; however, he grew up around athletics. His grandfather Ron Mason was the Men’s Ice Hockey Coach at Michigan State University, before becoming Athletic Director from 2002-2008. Tyler’s father Shawn Walsh was the Men’s Ice Hockey Coach for UMaine from 1984-2001.

beckymarpleRebecca Marple, B.S., ATC, LAT
Athletic Trainer
bmarple@nya.org

Rebecca obtained her Bachelors of Science in Athletic Training from Duquesne University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in 2004. She has attended post-graduate specialized education courses focusing on sports rehabilitation through the National Athletic Trainer’s Association.  Rebecca has been the Athletic Trainer for North Yarmouth Academy since 2009, and is the Head Athletic Trainer for Coastal Orthopedics & Sports Medicine, in addition to being the Head Rehab Aide and Performance Coach working in the Coastal Performance Training Center in Brunswick.

GymFloorInstallationSept2015 (1)SquareShelby Turcotte
Performance Enhancement Specialist, Weight Room
shelby@finer-points.com

Shelby holds his master’s degree in exercise science with a concentration in performance enhancement and injury prevention.  In addition, he is certified through the National Academy of Sports Medicine as a Performance Enhancement Specialist.  Shelby has worked with a variety of clients – from developing young athletes up through professionals.  He enjoys sharing his knowledge and experience in the field by writing and speaking on a variety of subjects.  Shelby obtained his MS from California University of Pennsylvania, and a BS (Sports Management) from Thomas College.

Upper School Coaching Staff

Fall Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Cross Country – Boys & Girls Varsity Peter Sillin psillin@nya.org
Field Hockey – Varsity Julia Sterling juliasterling0904@gmail.com
Field Hockey – Varsity Assistant/JV Ashley Randlett arandlett@nya.org
Field Hockey Goalies Sarah Bright sasbright@gmail.com
Golf – Varsity Charlie Hudson chudson@nya.org
Golf – JV Colby Myer cmyer@nya.org
Sailing SailMaine
Soccer – Boys Varsity Martyn Keen martynkeen@yahoo.com
Soccer – Boys Varsity Assistant/JV Scott Jarosz sjarosz@seacoastunited.com
Soccer – Girls Varsity Rick Doyon doyon@bpd.net
Soccer – Girls Varsity Assistant Ethan Mongue emongue7@gmail.com
Volleyball – Girls Varsity Nora Krainis nkrainis@nya.org
Volleyball – Varsity Assistant/JV Dave Gagne dgagne@nya.org

 

Winter Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Basketball – Boys Varsity Jason Knight Jason.knight7@yahoo.com
Basketball – Boys Varsity Assistant/JV Jesse Colfer jessecolfer@gmail.com
Basketball – Girls Varsity Nick Stacey coachs12@hotmail.com
Basketball – Girls Varsity Assistant Terry Hickey hickeyt@rsu5.org
Ice Hockey – Boys Varsity Tyler Walsh twalsh@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys Varsity Assistant Alex Kurtz alexlkurtz@gmail.com
Ice Hockey – Boys Junior Varsity Richard Tibbetts richt@stx.com
Ice Hockey – Girls Varsity Pavel Navrat pnavrat@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Girls Varsity Assistant Emily Corrales emjcorrales@outlook.com
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls Goaltending Rob Couturier rcouturier78@yahoo.com
Indoor Track – Boys & Girls Varsity Chris Mazzurco cmazzurco@nya.org
Indoor Track – Assistant Coach David Gagne dgagne@nya.org
Indoor Track – Assistant Coach Matthew Brown pureivy05@gmail.com
Swimming & Diving – Boys & Girls Varsity Rob Hale rhale@msad51.org
Spring Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Baseball Tyler Walsh twalsh@nya.org
Baseball – Varsity Assistant/JV Alex Kloza akloza@nya.org
Lacrosse – Boys Varsity Glenn Gorden Glenn.gorden@gmail.com
Lacrosse – Boys Varsity Assistant/JV Tom Nastro tomnastro@yahoo.com
Lacrosse – Girls Varsity Molly Climo molly.climo@gmail.com
Lacrosse – Girls Varsity Assistant/JV Laura Young MacMahon laura.young89@gmail.com
Tennis – Boys Varsity Charlie Hudson chudson@nya.org
Tennis – Boys Varsity Assistant/JV Alexandra Maurer mainestraw@gmail.com
Tennis – Girls Varsity
Track & Field – Boys & Girls Varsity Chris Mazzurco cmazzurco@nya.org
Track & Field – Assistant Coach Matthew Brown pureivy05@gmail.com
Track & Field – Assistant Coach Dave Gagne dgagne@nya.org

 

Middle School Coaching Staff

Fall Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Cross Country Tim McMahon ’93 tmcmahon@nya.org
Field Hockey NA
Soccer – Boys Nathan Smith nsmith@nya.org
Soccer – Girls Danielle Barschdorf dbarschdorf@nya.org
Tennis – Girls and Boys David Echeverria decheverria@nya.org
Winter Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Basketball – Boys TBD
Basketball – Girls Fatou Diagana fdiagana@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls Pavel Navrat pnavrat@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls Assistant Bruce Myers bmyers@nya.org
Ice Hockey – Boys & Girls Goaltending Rob Couturier rcouturier78@yahoo.com
Winter Experience Anne Powell apowell@nya.org
Spring Season
Team Coach(es) Contact
Baseball Seth Farrington seth23farrington@hotmail.com
Lacrosse – Boys Tim McMahon ’93 tmcmahon@nya.org
Lacrosse – Girls Laura Young MacMahon
Mark MacMahon
laura.young89@gmail.com
mark.r.macmahon@gmail.com 
Track and Field, Boys & Girls Fatou Diagana
Nate Smith
fdiagana@nya.org
nsmith@nya.org