NYA Art class

The NYA faculty & staff knows each
and every student by name. Now’s your
chance to learn a little about us.

NYA Brochure

Amanda Ackley
Amanda Ackley

University of Maryland, B.A.; University of Virginia, M.Ed.
mackley@nya.org

Middle School English and History, Lower School Science

Eliza Alexander
Eliza P. Alexander

Smith College, B.A.; George Washington University, M.A.
ealexander@nya.org

Modern & Classical Languages Chair, Upper School Spanish

Eric P. Austin
Eric P. Austin

University of New Hampshire, B.S.; Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, M.S.
eaustin@nya.org

Head of Upper School, Upper School Mathematics

Danielle Fisher Barschdorf
Danielle Fisher Barschdorf

Pennsylvania State University, B.A.; University of New Hampshire, M.A.
dbarschdorf@nya.org

Lower and Middle Schools Science Chair, Middle School Science


Kristi C. Belesca
Kristi C. Belesca

Davidson College, B.A.
kbelesca@nya.org

Director of Marketing and Communications

James Bly
James Bly

jbly@nya.org

Maintenance & Cleaning Technician

Jennifer Bonnett
Jennifer Bonnett

jbonnett@nya.org

Director of Summer Programs

Garrett Bowne
Garrett Bowne

gbowne@nya.org

Chief Financial Officer


Michele Buehner
Michele Buehner

University of Maine – Orono, B.S.; University of New England, M.Ed.
mbuehner@nya.org

Middle School, Grade 5

Daniel Chin
Daniel Chin

Bowdoin College, B.A.; University of New England, M.Ed.
dchin@nya.org

Upper School French, Middle School French

Ryan Coulombe
Ryan Coulombe

rcoulombe@nya.org

Assistant Ice Arena Manager

Barbara Croston
Barbara Croston

bcroston@nya.org

Accounting Assistant


Deidre Cutter
Deidre Cutter

University of Southern Maine, B.A.; University of New England, M.S.
dcutter@nya.org

Lower School Literacy and Academic Support

David A. Daigle
David A. Daigle

Southern Maine Technical Institute
ddaigle@nya.org

Dining Services Manager

Leslie Durgin
Leslie Durgin

The Ohio State University, B.A.
ldurgin@nya.org

Associate Director of Lower School & Admission

David C. Echeverria
David C. Echeverria

Wesleyan University, B.A.; St. Joseph’s College of Maine, M.S.
decheverria@nya.org

Middle School History, Middle School Tennis


Jennifer Elkins
Jennifer Elkins

Parsons School of Design, New School for Social Research, B.F.A.
jelkins@nya.org

Lower School, Assistant Toddler Teacher

Patrick 'Matt' Feehan
Patrick “Matt” Feehan

mfeehan@nya.org

Maintenance, Grounds & Cleaning Technician

David Gagne
David Gagne

University of Maine-Orono, B.A.; University of Southern Maine, M.S.
dgagne@nya.org

Upper School History, Technology Coordinator

Ellen Gagne
Ellen Gagne

Bridgewater State College, B.S.; Simmons College, M.S.
egagne@nya.org

Lower School, Grades 3-4


Shannon Gallagher
Shannon Gallagher

Westfield State College, B.S.; Lesley University, M.Ed.
sgallagher@nya.org

Lower School, Grades 1-2

Michael Gengras
Michael Gengras

Trinity College, B.A.; University of New Hampshire, M.S.T.
mgengras@nya.org

Upper School English, Assistant Dean of Students

Eli Gilbert
Eli Gilbert

East Tennessee State University, B.A.

egilbert@nya.org

Upper School Music Ensembles

Grace Gilbert
Grace Gilbert

Denison University, B.A.
ggilbert@nya.org

Lower School, Assistant Toddler Teacher & After Care


Crystal Gordon
Crystal A. Gordon

University of Maine, B.A.; Harvard University, ALM
cgordon@nya.org

Development and Events Coordinator

Eliot Grady
Eliot Grady

Yale University, B.A.; Simmons College, M.S.; Harvard University, M.A.
egrady@nya.org

Librarian, Upper School French, Middle School History

Heidi Grant
Heidi Grant

Colby College, B.A.; Columbia University, M.A.
hgrant@nya.org

Upper School English, Emerge, Make-A-Wish

Regina Hackleman
Regina Hackleman

SUNY at Geneseo, B.A.; Boston University, Ed.M.
rhackleman@nya.org

Upper School Mathematics Chair, Upper School Mathematics


Jack Hardy
Jack Hardy

University of Maine-Orono, M.Ed.
jhardy@nya.org

Director of Athletics

Kathi Hardy
Kathleen “Kathi” Hardy

University of Southern Maine, B.A.
khardy@nya.org

Lower School, Lead Toddler Teacher

Carol Harris
Carol Harris

Andover College, Southern Maine Community College
charris@nya.org

Development Coordinator

Braden Heal
Braden Heal

University of Southern Maine, B.S.
bheal@nya.org

Athletic Trainer, Lower and Middle Schools Physical Education


Bill Heywood
Bill Heywood

 

Arena Assistant

Todd Holbrook
Todd Holbrook

tholbrook@nya.org

Assistant Director of Facilities

Jake Hopkins
Jake Hopkins

Jordanhill College, B.A.; Lesley University, M.Ed.
jhopkins@nya.org

Lower School, Grades 2-3

Karin Hoppenbrouwers
Karin Hoppenbrouwers

Yale University, B.A.; University of Georgia
khoppenbrouwers@nya.org

Upper School Latin


Elisabeth 'Biz' Houghton
Elisabeth “Biz” Houghton

Boston College, B.A.
bhoughton@nya.org

Academic Support Consultant, Study Skills, Tutor

Benjamin Jackson
Benjamin Jackson

Hobart College, B.A.; Providence College, M.A.; Regis University, M.Ed. Leadership
bjackson@nya.org

Head of School

Tara Johnson
Tara Johnson

Bishop’s University, B.A.
tjohnson@nya.org

Registrar, Upper School Administrative Assistant

Jennifer Johnston
Jennifer Johnston

Ohio Dominican University, B.A.
jjohnston@nya.org

Lower School, Primary Co-Teacher


Jacquelyn Jones
Jacquelyn Jones

University of Southern Maine
jjones@nya.org

Controller

Daniel M. King
Daniel M. King

dking@nya.org

Director of Facilities & Transportation

Alex Kloza
Alex Kloza

akloza@nya.org

Manager of Ice Arena Operations

Casandrea Konkel
Casandrea Konkel

 

Maintenance & Cleaning Technician


Nora N. Krainis
Nora N. Krainis

Corpus Christi State University, B.S.
nkrainis@nya.org

Vocal Music, Theatre Arts, Varsity Volleyball

Michael Krakowka
Michael Krakowka

Ithaca College, B.S.
mkrakowka@nya.org

Marketing & Communications Assistant

Morgan Lake Adams
Morgan Lake Adams ’99

Wellesley College, B.A.; Boston College, M.A.
mlakeadams@nya.org

Upper School History

Barbara Lambert
Barbara Lambert

blambert@nya.org

Dining Services Assistant


Heidi Lathrop
Heidi Lathrop ’92

Kennebunk Nursing Facility, C.N.A.; Brentwood Rehabilitation Center, R.C.N.A.
hlathrop@nya.org

Middle School Administrative Assistant, Attendance

Andrea Lauerman
Andrea Lauerman

Dartmouth College, B.A.; Harvard University, M.Ed.
alauerman@nya.org

Upper School Science

Kelly Beth Lavertu
Kelly Beth Lavertu

Unity College, B.S.; University of Southern Maine, M.Ed.; AMS Montessori Certification

kblavertu@nya.org

Lower School Lead Primary & Kindergarten Teacher

Abbi Maguire
Abbi Maguire

Marist College, B.A.
amaguire@nya.org

Assistant Director of Admission


Haver Markham
Haver Markham

Cornell University, B.S.
hmarkham@nya.org

Upper School Mathematics & Science

Marissa Markonish
Marissa Markonish

Wesleyan University, B.A.; University of Massachusetts-Amherst, M.A.T.
mmarkonish@nya.org

Head of Lower & Middle Schools, Middle School Latin

Ross J. Markonish
Ross J. Markonish

Harvard University, B.A.
rmarkonish@nya.org

English Chair, Upper School English, Senior Speeches

Christopher J. Mazzurco
Christopher J. Mazzurco

Wesleyan University, B.A.
cmazzurco@nya.org

Director of Information Technology, Varsity Track, Varsity Cross Country


Lisa McGlinn
Lisa McGlinn

University of Southern Maine, A.S.C.I.
lmcglinn@nya.org

Junior Accountant

Timothy McMahon
Timothy McMahon ’93

Maine College of Art, B.F.A.
tmcmahon@nya.org

Middle School Art, Middle School Cross Country, Middle School Lacrosse

Christa Mecham
Christa Mecham

Massachusetts College of Art & Design, B.F.A.
cmecham@nya.org

Lower School Art and Classroom Assistant

Jennifer Michaelis
Jennifer Michaelis

Boston University, B.S.; University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, M.A.T.; University of Alabama, J.D.
jmichaelis@nya.org

Upper School Mathematics


Ashley Spicer Moody
Ashley Spicer Moody ’02

Southern Maine Community College, Associate’s in Paramedicine; University of Maine, A.D.N.; Walden University, B.S.N., M.S.N.-FNP
amoody@nya.org

Health Services Coordinator

Chelsea Morrison
Chelsea Morrison

Central Maine Community College, A.S.
cmorrison@nya.org

Lower School, Primary Co-Teacher

Marti Morton
Marti Morton

University of Oklahoma, B.A.
mmorton@nya.org

Lower School, Creative Movement, Classroom Assistant, After Care

Colby Myer
Colby Myer

University of Utah, B.F.A.; Laguna College of Art & Design, M.F.A.
cmyer@nya.org

Upper School Studio Art, Gallery Coordinator


Michelle Napoli
Michelle Napoli

University of Miami, B.A.; University of Southern Maine, M.S.
mnapoli@nya.org

School Counselor

Pavel Navrat
Pavel Navrat

University of Vermont, B.S.B.A.; University of Vermont, M.B.A.
pnavrat@nya.org

Associate Director of Athletics, Director of Girls Hockey

Heidi O'Connor
Heidi H. O’Connor

University of New Hampshire, B.A.
hoconnor@nya.org

Middle School French & Spanish, Middle School Debate

Anne Powell
Anne Powell

Bowdoin College, B.A.; University of Richmond, G.T.L.
apowell@nya.org

Middle School English


Ian A. Ramsey
Ian A. Ramsey

University of Southern Maine, B.S.; M.F.A. – Rainier Writing Workshop, Pacific Lutheran University
iramsey@nya.org

Visual & Performing Arts Chair, Upper School Instrumental Music, Studio Band

Ashley Randlett
Ashley Randlett

Mary Washington College, B.S.
arandlett@nya.org

Director of Admission

Jennifer Richard
Jennifer Richard

Assumption College, B.A.
jrichard@nya.org

Director of Development

Cindy Rideout
Cindy Rideout

Portland Arts & Tech, C.N.A.
crideout@nya.org

Lower School, Assistant Primary Teacher, After Care


Lisa D. Robbins
Lisa D. Robbins

University of Massachusetts-Amherst; Aquinas Junior College, A.S.; Arizona State University
lrobbins@nya.org

IT Assistant, Web Tech and Lead Scheduler

Nathalie Romero
Nathalie Romero

Universidad Nacional de Asuncion, Paraguay, B.A.
nromero@nya.org

Upper School Spanish

Erika Sahlman
Erika Sahlman

Northeastern University, B.S.; St. Michael’s College, M.Ed.
esahlman@nya.org

Middle School Science & Mathematics

Meghan Scribner
Meghan Scribner

Hartwick College, B.A.; Lesley College, M.A.; Maine College of Art, M.F.A.
mscribner@nya.org

Upper School Photography & Science, Director of International Summer Programs


Sagaree Sengupta
Sagaree Sengupta

Cornell University, A.B.; University of Wisconsin, M.A.; University of Pennsylvania, Ph.D.
ssengupta@nya.org

Upper School English, Coordinator for International Students

Peter Sillin
Peter Sillin

Williams College, B.A.; University of Virginia, M.A.
psillin@nya.org

History Chair, Varsity Boys Cross Country

Elizabeth K. Smith
Elizabeth “Liz” K. Smith

Wheaton College-Illinois, B.S., M.A.T.
lsmith@nya.org

Upper School Science Chair, Upper School Science

Jessica Smith
Jessica Smith

Bucknell University, B.A.; Wilmington University, M.Ed.
jsmith@nya.org

Lower School and Middle School Spanish, Middle School Mathematics


Nathan Smith
Nathan Smith

Allegheny College, B.S.; Wilmington College, M.Ed.
nsmith@nya.org

Lower & Middle Schools Mathematics Chair, Middle School Dean of Students

Kevin Spencer
Kevin Spencer

kspencer@nya.org

Maintenance & Cleaning Technician

Cameron Spiller
Cameron Spiller

cspiller@nya.org

Ice Arena Coordinator

Nicholas Stuart
Nicholas Stuart

 

Maintenance & Cleaning Technician


Lynn Sullivan
Lynn Sullivan

Colby College, B.A.; University of Southern Maine, M.A.
lsullivan@nya.org

Upper School Dean of Students, Upper School History

Katherine Thomas
Katherine Thomas

Williams College, B.A.
kthomas@nya.org

Director of College Counseling

Steve Thomas
Steve Thomas

North Carolina State University, B.A.; Wesleyan University, M.A.
tsthomas@nya.org

Associate Director of College Counseling

Linda Vaillancourt
Linda M. Vaillancourt

University of Southern Maine, B.S.; University of Maine, M.M.
lvaillancourt@nya.org

Lower School Music, Middle School Instrumental Music, String Ensemble


Michael Warde
Michael Warde

Iona College, B.A.
mwarde@nya.org

Director of Boys Hockey, Development Officer

Karen Wentworth
Karen Wentworth

Lasell College, AMS Montessori Certification
kwentworth@nya.org

Lower School, Senior Toddler Teacher